RSE Fellows Elected to National Academies

The RSE would like to congratulate the following RSE Fellows, who have been elected as Fellows of other UK national academies:

The Royal Society

Professor Sarah Cleaveland OBE, Professor of Comparative Epidemiology, University of Glasgow
Professor James Dunlop, Professor of Extragalactic Astronomy, University of Edinburgh
Professor Dame Anne Glover DBE, Vice-Principal External Affairs & Dean for Europe, University of Aberdeen
Professor Neil Gow, Director of Research and Commercialisation at College of Life Sciences and Medicine, University of Aberdeen
Professor Russell Morris, Professor of Structural and Materials Chemistry, University of St Andrews
Professor James Prosser OBE, Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of Aberdeen
The Rt Hon Lord (Jonathan) Turner of Echinswell HonFRSE, Senior Fellow, Institute for New Economic Thinking [elected an Honorary Fellow].

The Academy of Medical Sciences

Professor Judith Allen, Professor of Immunobiology, University of Manchester
Professor Gordon Brown, 6th Century Chair in Immunology, University of Aberdeen
Professor Stuart Forbes, Professor of Transplantation & Regenerative Medicine, University of Edinburgh
Professor Laura Machesky, Senior Research Group Leader, University of Glasgow
Dr Iain Mattaj, Director General, European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL)
Professor Graeme Milligan, Professor of Molecular Pharmacology, Gardiner Professor of Biochemistry and Dean of Research, University of Glasgow
Professor Jeffrey Pollard, Director, University of Edinburgh MRC Centre for Reproductive Health, University of Edinburgh
Professor Naveed Sattar, Professor of Metabolic Medicine, University of Glasgow.

Learned Society of Wales

Finally, the RSE congratulates Sir Michael Atiyah OM FRS HonFREng HonFMedSci HonFFA HonFLSW (pictured), past President of the RSE, on his election as an Honorary Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales. This is the first time that the LSW has elected Honorary Fellows.