Learned Societies’ Group appoints new Chair

On behalf of the Learned Societies’ Group on Scottish STEM Education (LSG), the RSE is delighted to announce the appointment of its new Chair, Professor Maggie Cusack FRSE. She succeeds Professor Lesley Yellowlees FRSE, who held the position for four years. Maggie is currently Dean of Natural Sciences at Stirling University and brings with her a strong background of multidisciplinary research across the sciences, with a focus on biominerals and biomineralisation. She also recently served on RSE’s Council as Vice-President (Physical Sciences) and sits on Scottish Government’s STEM Strategy Advisory Group.

The LSG, of which the RSE is a member, was formed in 2012 to pursue collaborative working across common areas of concern and interest with respect to STEM education in Scotland. Its membership includes representatives from the Association for Science Education, British Computer Society, Edinburgh Mathematical Society, Institute of Physics, Royal Society of Biology, Royal Society of Chemistry, Royal Society of Edinburgh, and Scottish Mathematical Council. Some of its recent work has focused on science education in primary school, teacher education, and the impacts of multi-course teaching on both practitioners and students.