Fellows recognised in the Queen’s New Year Honours 2021

The RSE offers its congratulations to the following Fellows who were recognised in the Queen’s 2021 New Year Honours:

Professor Francis Gerard MCCORMAC
Principal and Vice-Chancellor, University of Stirling.
For services to Education and to the Economy

Commander of the Order of the British Empire
Professor Wendy Anne BICKMORE FMedSci FRS
Director, MRC Human Genetics Unit, University of Edinburgh.
For services to Biomedical Sciences and to Women in Science

Professor Allister Ian FERGUSON
Professor of Photonics, University of Strathclyde.
For services to Science and to Industry

Ms Caroline Jane GARDNER
Former Auditor General for Scotland.
For services to the Scottish Public Sector

Professor Sheila ROWAN MBE FRS
Director, Institute for Gravitational Research and Chief Scientific Adviser for Scotland.
For services to Science

Professor Petra WEND
Former Principal and Vice-Chancellor, Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh.
For services to Higher Education

Officer of the Order of the British Empire
Dr Hermione COCKBURN
Scientific Director, Dynamic Earth.
For services to Public Engagement in Science

Member of the Order of the British Empire
Professor Geoffrey Allan CODD
Emeritus Professor of Microbiology, University of Dundee.
For services to Water Quality

The full honours list is available here.