• Date & Time:

Event Partners:

Royal Meteorological Society logo

Scotland’s climate change science and COP26

This event has passed


A joint conference between the Scottish Centre of Royal Meteorological Society and the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Join the Royal Society of Edinburgh and the Scottish Centre of the Royal Meteorological Society for an online conference on Wednesday 6th October on the science and impact of climate change.

In the lead-up to COP26 in Glasgow, the conference will bring together some of Scotland’s leading climate scientists to discuss the current understanding of climate science, including the latest assessment from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The event will consider current and future impacts of climate change, including its impact on temperatures and storms, heatwaves and food production. It will also discuss the societal action required to limit the impact of climate change and to meet ambitious net-zero targets.

The conference will provide an opportunity for the public to discuss these issues with, and to put questions to, leading climate scientists. It will also be an opportunity to learn more about COP26 and what we can expect from it.

Book via Eventbrite

Face The Facts series launched in the run-up to COP26

Featuring talks from:

Mr David Warrilow OBE
Vice President, Royal Meteorological Society
Explaining the COP process


Prof. Gabi Hegerl FRS FRSE
University of Edinburgh
Human influence on climate: from global warming to extreme events


Prof. Pete Smith FRS FRSE
University of Aberdeen
Nature-based solutions on land


Professor Stuart Cunningham
SAMS, University of the Highlands and Islands
Changing Oceans in a Changing Climate


Dr Michael Byrne
University of St Andrews
Storms, Floods and Heatwaves: Extreme Weather in a Warming World


Prof. Jan Webb MBE
University of Edinburgh
Perspectives from social studies of energy and climate change


Panel discussion involving the speakers
Chair: Mr David Warrilow


Professor Zoe Shipton
Mr David Warrilow OBE
Professor Gabi Hegerl FRS FRSE
Professor Pete Smith FRS FRSE
Professor Stuart Cunningham
Dr Michael Byrne
Professor Jan Webb MBE